You are Here: Home > Programs in china > Chinese Medium Programs > Chinese language > Anhui University > About AHU

Why Anhui University?

1. Founded in 1928
2. Government owned, comprehensive university
3. Key university under the jurisdiction of Anhui Provincial Government
4. One of the 100 universities under "211 project", a state project to develop higher education in china
5. Authorized by the Ministry of Education to enroll international students in early 1980’s
6. international cooperation and exchange program with 84 overseas universities by far
7. Designated by the Ministry of Education to accept international students who are granted with Chinese government scholarship 8. Designated by Overseas Chinese Affairs Office under the State Council as the base for Overseas Chinese Language Education & Training

Brief Introduction:

Anhui University, the key comprehensive provincial institution, is located in Hefei, the beautiful capital city of Anhui Province. Founded in 1928 in Anqing and moved to Hefei in 1958, Anhui University is now a well developed higher institution supported by the government under the State 211 Project.
The main campus covers an area of about 55 hectares, two branch campuses 30 hectares and the new campus is 135 hectares. Its library has a collection of more than 1.75 million books and over 7000 Chinese and foreign periodicals, and it is equipped with a campus computer network. The University consists of 18 schools, 44 departments, 65 undergraduate specialties,119 master degree programs, 16 PH.D. programs, and 1 Post-doctor’s scientific research flow work station, 4 professional master degree programs, and 2 state-level disciplines, 12 provincial-level disciplines. The University has a staff of 2399, among which 210 are professors and 490 associate professors. The student population totals 28143, in addition to 6466 adult students.
The university attaches great importance to international exchange and cooperation. Now, it has entered into agreements with 74 overseas institutions. It began to accept foreign students in 1980. It is authorized by the Ministry of Education to enroll international students who enjoy Chinese government’s scholarships. It was designated by Overseas Chinese Affairs Office under the State Council the Teaching Base for Chinese Language and Culture in 2000. Up to date, more than 700 international students from Asia, American and Europe have been admitted to study at the university.
Anhui Province is rich in natural scenic spots and historic places of interests, such as, Mount Huangshan, listed by UNESCO as natural and cultural heritage and ancient folk houses in Xidi and Hongcun villages as cultural heritage; Mount Jiuhua, one of the four Buddhist shines; Mount Qiyun, one of the four Taoist shrines. With Yangzhi River and Huaihe River across Anhui province and with a galaxy of men of letters, Anhui has been famous for its rich and colorful local culture, especially, Hui culture in Southern Anhui and Huaihe culture in Northern Anhui.

International Cooperation:

Central Washington University (USA)
San Diego State University (Japan)
Aalborg University (Denmark)
Victoria University Of Technology (Australia)
Duksung University (Korea)
Middlesex University (Britain)
De La Salle University-Dasmarinas (Philippine)
University de Valle (Colombia)
National Orel University (Russia)
Temasek Polytechnic (Singapore)
Germany-China Center (Germany)
Cairo University (Egypt)
Alberta Center for International Education (Canada)
The University of France-Comte (France)
University Of Santo Tomas (Chile)
The University of Waikato (New Zealand)
Stockholm University (Sweden)
Ho Chi Minh City University of Pedagogy (Vietnam)
National University of LA PAMPA (Argentina)
Kharkiv national V.N. Karazin University (Ukraine)
Christian University of Thailand (Thailand)