You are Here: Home > Universities, Colleges, Schools > Engineering Universities China > Changsha Science & Technological University > About CSUST

About CSUST - Changsha Science & Technological University

Brief Introduction :

Changsha University of Science & Technology, a merger of former Changsha Communications University and Changsha University of Electric Power, approved by the State Ministry of Education and Hunan Provincial People’s Government in 2003, is located in the renowned historical city of Changsha. The university is jointly established by the Central Government and Hunan Provincial Government, mainly under the administration of Hunan Province.

The university consists of two campuses (Yutang Campus & Jinpenling Campus), with an area of more than 1.83 million square meters and construction area of 0.98 million square meters. The university has fixed assets totaling RMB 1,344 million yuan, among which the apparatus and equipment for teaching and research are valued at RMB 217.74 million yuan. The university library has a collection of nearly 3 million books, with advanced network system and multimedia teaching facilities. The university is staffed with some 1900 full-time teachers, among whom are 3 academicians of Chinese Academy of Engineering, more than 200 professors or equivalents, 400 doctoral or master supervisors.

After half a century’s construction and development, the university has now grown into a multi-disciplinary university conferring doctoral, master’s, and bachelor’s degrees in the disciplines of engineering, sciences, management, economics, liberal arts and law. The university boasts of 17 schools (departments). With 1 discipline for doctoral degree and 6 sub-disciplines for doctoral degree, the university runs 54 bachelor’s programs and 57 master’s programs, in addition to conferring master’s degree to those with equivalent academic attainments and to conferring master’s degree of engineering. It has 7 provincial or ministerial key disciplines, 11 provincial key specialties, 6 province-supervised specialties and 8 state-supervised specialties. The university is also crowned with a state experimental area for innovative talents training, 10 provincial or ministerial key laboratories, 4 provincial research bases of Philosophy and Social Sciences, 6 provincial demonstration laboratories for core curriculums, and 10 excellent provincial bases for teaching practice.

The university recruits students from 31 municipalities, provinces and autonomous regions as well as Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan. The enrolled full-time students total more than 33 thousand, among whom 2000 are PhD candidates or postgraduates. The university is accredited to enroll international students and has established cooperation and exchange programs with over ten universities and scientific institutes from the USA, Great Britain, France, Russia, Anglo and Canada etc. Now more than 80 international students are engaged in language training and bachelor degree program at our university and more than 100 students of CUST are studying abroad in America, Great Britain, France, Russia, Canada, Korea, etc.

International Cooperation:

The University College of Caribbo(Canada)
University of Wolverhampton (Russia)
University of Bretagne-SUD ( France)
Lock Haven University (USA)
The University of Wales Swansea (UK)
Bremen University (Germany)
Myoungi University (Korea)
University Central del Valle del Cauca (Colombia)
Hanoi University (Vietnam)
Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (Australia)
Otemon Gakuin University (Japan)
Delta Academy of Science (Egypt)